Of Mice and Men edition

by Shihang

From Kelsey “luvs and hugs to those who read”:

I had to read this book for my 9th grade English class and i must say this is the worst book that I have ever read in my entire life! it had the worst ending possible, I had to keep putting it down because it had the slowest plot in the world and had very flat characters. (Amazon suggests you buy this with To kill a Mockingbird which was the other book that was required for me and I highly suggest that book because it is a great book and one of my all time favorites.) AHHHHH!!!!! this book made me soo mad. They killed of my favorite character!!! and george did it how could he do that! Slim was my other favorite and so was candy but even Slim wasn’t cool in the end. I hated this book so much. Don’t read this its bad. Read to Kill a Mocking Bird its good. If you want to read something of John Steinbecks read the Grapes of Wrath.

Lindsay says:

This book was quite possibly the worst book i’ve ever had to read. No wait, the worst ever was The Pearl! What is wrong with Steinbeck? Why does he feel he needs to kill main characters? I would seriously recomend that you never read this book ever. If you have to for highschool, I feel extremely sorry for you. In cnclusion I just have to say George, just let Lennie tend the Frickin’ rabbits and Kino, throw the pearl away already!

Hello:

I gave this book a one star for the cursing! I was shocked to see that the book has a good amount of cursing and that the school recommended this book to be read.

tmaggert:

During the first chapter of the book. It hooks you right away. From the moment the characters arrive at the barn it declines. If you have ever seen “Pinky and the Brain” these are the characters. Except Lennie is more stupid than Pinky! My two year old cousin has more common sense than Lennie. The book is highly illogical.
and some smartass notes: You do know that Lennie is mentally retarded right…?

Some kid:

I read this book and OMG it was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo sad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I HATE IT WHEN GEORGE SHOOTS LENNIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would rate this book ages 12+.
there are lots of cuss words like damn, hell and bitch!
its too violent and inappropriate for you if you are young!
(DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
(CAUTION If YOU DON’T LIKE SAD ENDINGS DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

Some guy:

The WORST part is the end, it’s VERY SAD. It’s the WORST ending I have ever read in a book. I was hoping the book would end happy, but, just like the rest of the book, the ending sucks as well. I don’t get how these books become famous.
